Week 6 – Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT) Tapping for Children

Week 6 of our programme introduces Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT), also known as Tapping. 

When I initially put together this programme Tapping did not feature in it, but as the saying goes ‘when the student is ready the teacher will appear’. My daughter and myself are the students and we were definitely ready to be blessed by Tapping.

It was a Friday, early evening when my daughter ran through the front door crying and attempting to slam it behind her. Closely following her were her 3 friends asking her what was wrong. She kept hiding her face and continued crying. Her friends didn’t know what was going on for as far as they could see nothing had happened to prompt her outburst. After reassuring them that everything would be okay I sat my daughter down and attempted to find out what had upset her so much. Nothing was forthcoming; she didn’t want to talk about it and furthermore appeared to be unable to speak. If I could chose a word to describe her behaviour it would be ‘overwhelmed’. We used the breathing techniques that we’d learn through Yoga and she held her favourite piece of blue chalcedony. They helped a little but more was needed to help her open up to what had happened. I didn’t feel that we had hours or days to work through this; I was worried and needed to know what had happened and to use a technique that could soothe her quickly and with ease.

I’ve used Tapping on and off since 2009. I’d had some great results with it but over time I’d used it less and less forgetting how powerful a technique it really is. Something had promoted me to use it on myself over the past couple of weeks so it was in the forefront of my mind. I’d had quite a few issues and concerns materialising as a result of the work that myself and my daughter had been doing and I’d used Tapping to work my way through them – more on this in my next post. I’d never used Tapping on a child before but I was intuitively guided to use it on my daughter.

Before I go in to what we did and the results we had, if you’ve never heard of or used Tapping you’ll want to know a bit more about what it is. In a nutshell Tapping works on the meridians (energy lines) of the body in a similar manner to acupressure or acupuncture, only with Tapping you are using your fingertips to tap rather than applying pressure or inserting needles. With Tapping you tap with your fingertips on specific areas; essentially these are the ends of the meridian points in your body. By doing this any energetic disruptions in your body or aura are cleared and as a result a plethora of emotional, physical and spiritual concerns can be resolved.

If you want to know more information on Tapping, how it works and what you need to do if you are new to this technique, please take the time to watch the video below. It’s amazing and well worth investing the time to watch and learn. The video is by Nick and Jesicca Ortner who are world renowned for sharing, teaching and enlightening people on Tapping.

There are certain steps in the Tapping sequence which have to be followed in a certain order. If you haven’t had time to watch the video above these are the steps that you need to take to do Tapping on yourself or your child:

Step 1: 

Choose whatever issue it is that you have identified as causing you the most concern.

In my daughter’s case it was that she was upset and couldn’t talk about it.

Step 2:

Rate how intense the concern feels on a scale of 0-10; with 10 being the most intense.

My daughter’s rating started as a 10.

Step 3:

Create a set-up statement that explains what your concern is. It is useful to be as specific as you can be. You can use the following template –

“Even though [insert your concern here], I deeply and completely accept myself.

My daughter’s set-up statement was “Even though I don’t know why I am crying and I don’t want to talk about it, I deeply and completely accept myself’’

Step 4:

Tap on your karate chop point 3 times whilst you repeat your set-up phrase.

Please see the diagram below which shows the location of your karate chop point (this diagram is courtesy of TheTappingSolution.com)

IMG_4119

Step 5:

Tap through the 8 points shown in the diagram above (these are the points where the end of the meridian lines are).

Tap on each point approximately 7 times, whilst repeating a reminder phrase. This is a shortened phrase that reminds you of your set-up phrase.

My daughter’s reminder phrase was interchangeable between “I don’t know why I’m crying” and “I can’t talk about it”.

If you need to see how this looks in practice you may find the video below useful.

Step 6:

Do 3 rounds of tapping through the 8 points.

Step 7:

Take a deep breath and rate the intensity of your concern as in step 2. Hopefully it will have reduced. If it hasn’t don’t give up.

Step 8:

Repeat the above steps until you reduce the intensity of your concern to a level that you are comfortable with.

We reduced my daughter’s intensity to a 2 after 3 rounds of tapping.

Using Tapping with Children

When using Tapping with children the way in which you do it will largely depend upon the age of the child. You can either encourage your child to tap on his/her own body or you can tap for them to begin with (i.e. you tap on the points on their body). The way in which I encouraged my daughter to use Tapping was by getting her to tap on her own karate chop point whilst saying her set up phrase 3 times, I then tapped on the points on her body as she repeated her reminder phase every time I tapped. Once you have done this a couple of times your child (if old enough) will be able to tap on the points themselves although never rule out that they may still need or want your help. It makes sense for you to continue doing this together until you are both confident in the steps.

After 2 rounds she’d stopped crying and started to talk. She explained that she was often frightened to talk about things that made her sad because if she started talking about them she was worried that she’d never be able to stop crying and the problem would become so big that it would never go away. We talked about this and tapped on it some more. From start to finish we probably spent about 20 minutes before the situation felt resolved and we’d worked through all of the concerns and experiences that had led to the episode earlier on in the evening.

This was the first time that I’d tried tapping with my children but since that evening we’ve used it to deal with a phobia involving Paddington Bear and a feeling my daughter was carrying that her brother was loved more than she was. Tapping has, for us, proven itself to be a very quick, easy, non-invasive technique for healing. I was astounded at the ease with which it enabled my daughter to calm herself and explain what was happening inside of her. Tapping is an invaluable tool in our self-love toolkit.

Please Note: the information contained in this blog is not a substitute for appropriate medical care. Should you or your child have a medical condition you are advised to contact your GP or other appropriately trained health professional.

3 thoughts on “Week 6 – Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT) Tapping for Children

  1. Advanced Research Technology says:

    I was first introduced to tapping in a yoga class. It was like, I don’t know what in the world we’re doing, but I’m paying for it, so I’ll participate.
    I later came to think of it like karate chopping whatever it was we wanted to deal with and access. It was like reminding ourselves to give it up, to let it go.
    As you’ve shown, there is a lot more to it, but it does have the ability to move one toward answers and to heal.
    Thanks for taking the time to share this with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

